Piesie Nana Yaw Safo Wins Journalist of the Year Award; Full List of Winners At 2019 UGSRC Excellence Awards

Radio Univers’ Piesie Nana Yaw Safo has been adjudged the Journalist of the Year at this year’s University of Ghana SRC Excellence Awards held at the Great Hall.

Even though the ceremony faced some challenges including late disbursement of funds, the organizers, Brandot Enterprise still managed to pull it off. Even event failed to start at the advertised 6pm time and started a bit slowly but ended in a more interesting way as Wanzam the Classic DJ served patrons with great mixes.

Other winners on the night included Lady Cornelia who won the Civic Engagement Award, Political Science Students Association (POSSA) – Most Outstanding Department and Lutfata Sung Bawiera winning the Debater of the Year.

Below are the full list of winners.


  • Most Influential Student: Ewura Karim Adams
  • Student Voice of the Year: Sylvester Amoako
  • Entrepreneurial Spirit Award: Clinton Nyarkoh (CEO, ISupreme Gh)
  • Presidential Award : Jeremiah Sekyi
  • Creative Fellow Award: Negus the Poet
  • SRC Committee of the year: Women’s Commission
  • Civic Engagement Award: Lady Cornelia
  • JCR of the Year: Business House JCR
  • Student Innovation of the year: Green Growth
  • Debater of the Year: Lutfata Sung
  • Journalist of the Year: Piesie Nana Yaw Safo
  • Club/Society of the Year: UG Plastic Recycling Project
  • Sportsman of the Year: Benjamin Azamati
  • Sportswoman of the Year: Jennifer Tuttor
  • Most Outstanding Department: Political Science Students Association (POSSA)
  • Most Outstanding Student with Special Needs: Gilbert Boateng Agyare
Please share