Breaking: Sarkodie Crowned Artiste of the Decade At 2019 VGMAs

Rapper and boss of Sarkcess Music, Sarkodie has been crowned the artiste of the decade at this year’s Vodafone Ghana Music Awards held at the Dome, Accra International Conference Centre.

Even though the event was marred by the controversial brawl between Reggae and Dancehall Acts, Stonebwoy and Shatta Wale, organizers managed to pull things together the event continued. However, the announcement of the winner of Artiste of the Year was suspended due to the heated tension at that moment.

Youngster Kuami Eugene led the pack with 3 awards in total including Highlife Artiste of the Year, Album of the Year and Producer of the Year. There were sterling performances from Efya, Kidi, Kwesi Arthur, Kofi Mole, Quamina MP, Sarkodie, King Promise, Barimah Sydney, Burna Boy, Kuami Eugene, Amakye Dede, Samini and others.

Here are the full list of winners:

Artiste of the Decade – Sarkodie

Gospel Song of the Year – Mo Ne Yo (Diana Hamilton)

Highlife Song of the Year – My Level (Shatta Wale)

Dancehall Song of the Year – Gringo (Shatta Wale)

Hip Hop Song of the Year – Anthem (Kwesi Arthur)

Hip Life Song of the Year – Obiara Wone Master (Yaa Pono)

Afropop Song of the Year – Akwaaba (Guilty Beatz ft Mr. Eazi & Patapaa)

Gospel Artiste of the Year – Diana Hamilton

Highlife Artiste of the Year – Kuami Eugene

Hiplife/Hip Pop Artiste of the Year – Medikal

Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year – Stonebwoy

Best Video of the Year – Come and See My Moda (MzVee ft Yemi Alade)

Best Collaboration of the Year – Kpo Keke (Stonebwoy ft Medikal & Darkovibes & Kwesi Arthur & Kelvynbwoy)

Record of the Year – Hye me bo (Akwaboah)

Songwriter of the Year – CCTV (King Promise ft Mugeez & Sarkodie)

Producer of the Year – Kuami Eugene

Sound Engineer of the Year – Francis Osei (Hye Me Bo)

Best Male Vocal Performance – Kidi (Thunder)

Best Female Vocal Performance – Efya (Hold Me Down)

Best African Artiste – Burna Boy

Best Rapper of the Year – Medikal

Best African Collaboration of the Year – Akwaaba (Guilty Beatz ft Mr. Eazi & Patapaa)

Best Group of the Year – Bethel Revival Choir

Best New Act – Wendy Shay

Album of the Year – Rockstar (Kuami Eugene)



Website | + posts

Kwesilive has been a media enthusiast since childhood. He is also an entertainment critic, writer and a Radio show host. His media career began in 2009 when he featured on 'Nhyira FM's' 'Kiddie Sports' before volunteering for, Sweet Melodies FM and Radio Univers.

Please share