No Thomas Partey As CAF Announces Shortlists For The 2018 Awards

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has finally announced the shortlist for the 2018 Football Awards that will be hosted in Senegalese capital of Dakar.

One notable name that was missing from the list was Ghana and Athletico Madrid’s Thomas Teye Partey who many touted as one of the best footballers on the continent in the year under review. However Black Maidens captain Mukarama Abdulai who scored 7 goals in the just ended FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup in Uruguay and Black Queens captain, Elizabeth Addo got nominated for Women’s Footballer of the Year.

The shortlisted nominees were decided by votes from the members of the CAF Technical & Development committee. The final phase will involve votes from CAF Media Experts, Legends, Coaches of the quarter-finalists ‘of the CAF Champions League and CAF Confederations Cup, and Coaches & Captains of the 54 Member Associations.

The Awards Gala, to honour footballers and officials who distinguished themselves during the year under review, will be held on Tuesday, 8 January 2019 in Dakar, Senegal.

Here Are The Full List Of Nominees

African Player of the Year

  • Alex Iwobi (Nigerian & Arsenal)
  • Andre Onana (Cameroon & Ajax)
  • Anis Badri (Tunisia & Esperance)
  • Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Medhi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus)
  • Mohammed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal)
  • Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City
  • Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
  • Walid Soliman (Egypt & Ahly)

Women’s Player of the Year

  • Abdulai Mukarama (Ghana & Northern Ladies)
  • Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dilian Quanjian)
  • Bassira Toure (Mali & AS Mande)
  • Chrestinah Thembi Kgatiana (South Africa & Houston Dash)
  • Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Seattle Reign)
  • Francisca Ordega (Nigeria & Washington Spirit)
  • Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon &  CSKA Moscow)
  • Janine Van Wyk (South Africa & Houston Dash)
  • Onome Ebi (Nigeria & Hekan Huisanhang)
  • Raissa Feudjio (Cameroon & Aland United)
  • Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Jiangsu Suning)

Youth Player of the Year

  • Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund)
  • Franck Kessie (Cote d’Ivoire & AC Milan)
  • Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria & Leicester City)

Men’s Coach of the Year

  • Aliou Cisse (Senegal)
  • Herve Renard (Morocco)
  • Moine Chaabani (Esperance)

Women’s Coach of the Year

  • Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
  • Thomas Brian Ndoko (Cameroon)
  • Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria)

Men’s National Team of the Year

  • Madagascar
  • Mauritania
  • Uganda

Women’s National Team of the Year

  • Cameroon
  • Nigeria
  • South Africa
Website | + posts

Kwesilive has been a media enthusiast since childhood. He is also an entertainment critic, writer and a Radio show host. His media career began in 2009 when he featured on 'Nhyira FM's' 'Kiddie Sports' before volunteering for, Sweet Melodies FM and Radio Univers.

Please share